rosedwater

meI started this blog because it was required for my english class, and now that the year is about to come to an end, it’s time to reflect….
on my OTHER blog for ANOTHER english project.

rosedwater @ tumblr

I don’t know if you’ve noticed… but I draw. So for our “innovation project” for english I wanted to make a blog where I could post the art that I draw. For the past year or so, I’ve been drawing way less, for both creative and personal reasons. I was hoping that this would get me inspired but in the end I just ended up uploading inconsistently, and not very often. Kind of like this blog.

The Sad Stuff First
I feel like these two blogs were difficult for me because I’m a private person and it makes me uncomfortable knowing all these people are seeing this personal side of me. I noticed the reason I drew a lot but never uploaded lots of artwork is because it was very personal.
Another thing I noticed was I was embarrassed to post the stuff I DID draw, and think was good. I know it seems silly but sometimes I don’t want people to know that I love watching tons of cartoons and that’s what I find inspiring.
Also, aside from that the stuff I have been drawing is just “mediocre”. I feel like while I’ve improved over the past 3 years, I’ve become less creative. Everything I’ve been drawing seems so repetitive to the point where it starts to get boring. So, lack of inspirations is what’s really been getting me. It’s just the same things over and over with little variation, which is frustrating because it produces a feeling that I’m not going no where. This repeats until a week or MONTH passes by without posting anything, which doesn’t make me feel good, and now I’m sad and can’t draw. It’s a continuous cycle that I need to break.

On a Brighter Note
I don’t want people thinking this was a huge disaster because it wasn’t. I’ve been wanting to create an art blog for a long time, but I’ve been too lazy to actually create one, but now I have! While I don’t have a lot of followers, I still have this blog that documents all the things I’ve done over this school year.  I think my art blog (and this one) has made me open up more, and when I DO post, I get inspired.
On another note I feel like if this blog project was happening during the summer, more content would have been put up. School is exhausting and I can’t muster up the energy to draw during the week, and on the weekend I just want to sleep. I feel like during the summer I will continue to use the blog more, and grow more now that I have a platform already there for me.
Most importantly, these blogs have inspired me in times of doubt. (Very cheesy) I kind of get pumped up on adrenaline whenever I make  a new post (that I like), and while I’m not the best writer, I try. I feel now that the school year is about to simmer down (not yet though, it’s gonna be boiling for a while) I’ll be able to post more.

I don’t want it to seem like I’m making excuses (but I kind of am), this year was very tolling but I learned a lot about myself. I hope as I continue to post more on my art blog, it becomes a habit that I can’t break. While I don’t feel like right now at this moment I can do that, this is something I’ve really wanted for a long time and I hope that I’ll be able to.

🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to rosedwater

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVEEEEEE your artwork!!! ❤

  2. Yeah seriously I love looking at your artwork. Share something small every day, even just a part of a drawing. Find one part that you liked. Also people like stuff more if there is a narrative attached, just like paintings in a museum.

Leave a Reply

