Recalled to Life

oookkkkkkkRight now we are alive. Our hearts beat and our blood flows, so in technical term we are alive, but are we really alive? Dun dun dun.
When people like something you often hear them say something along the lines of “I love Keeping Up With The Kardashians, its like my life.” Obviously they don’t mean they live the Kardashian lifestyle, but they mean they enjoy the show and invest their time in watching it. In A Tale Of Two Cities by Charles Dickens the theme of being recalled to life is constantly reinforced. It’s not in the literal sense that someone is dead and being brought back to life, but if a figurative way exactly that is happening. We basically witness a man being brought back to life! He’s not dead, his heart has been beating and blood has been rushing through his body but he hasn’t been alive.
Have you ever seem a movie or a show about someone who is unhappy with their life, feels dead, but son finds their “calling” and is seemingly “alive again.” Whether in romance or action films you might hear the lines “I’ve never felt more alive in my life.” What? Never felt so alive? You’re always alive, is there a level of how much life you can actually feel alive? Maybe, but the definition of feeling alive we are most common with the phase “feeling alive” usually has to do with happiness.
A phase I’ve been using a lot recently is “I’m dead.” That’s usually followed up by “I have so much homework” or “I have 3 tests tomorrow” basically it’s a way to tell people I’m stressed. I don’t feel “alive” when I have to do 5 hours of homework or 7 hours worth of studying, but I’m not here to complain so moving on! I’ve established that alive = positive connotation and dead = negative connotation (in most cases).
We feel alive when we feel like he have a purpose, when you have purpose you have a drive, when you have a drive you feel alive. You feel like you are working for something that will pay off in the end. I feel like everyone in a sense is dead. Especially most people my age (including me)  are young and don’t know what they want to do. I don’t know what college I want to go to, I don’t even know what I want to do career wise! It’s upsetting and stressful because I feel like I have no sense of purpose. I’m going to school for what? To go to college. Go to college for what? I don’t know. Getting person here, It’s hard to have a drive when you have no sense of purpose, so essentially I’m dead. I’m young though! I’m not going to know what I want to do for the rest of my life and that’s okay. So let’s just say I’m in a coma. I’m waiting to be recalled to life and find something I have a real drive for.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recalled to Life

  1. Mr. Theriault pointed me towards your blog via Twitter. I am impressed with your insight into this complex issue. Keep thinking like this, and working out thoughts through your sketchbooks. You’ll find your purpose.

Leave a Reply

